top of page

Nagasaki: Memories of My Son


Nagasaki: Memories of My Son

Japanese: 母と暮せば

Hepburn: Haha to Kuraseba, "Living with my mother"

Midwife Nobuko Fukuhara lost her husband and eldest son during World War II and lost her youngest son, Koji, as a result of the bombing of Nagasaki. Following the war, she has been living alone with only work to keep her occupied. However, one day she is visited by an apparition of Koji. The mother and son begin to spend much time together, reminiscing and catching up on lost time. Although these moments together make both of them happy, it leads Nobuko to reflect more on her losses and the relationship she has with Koji's fiancée Machiko. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nagasaki:_Memories_of_My_Son

OAL: I am tearing up writing this and I watched it last week. It very heartfelt, genuine, and real. It deserves every award it got.

Found at:

bottom of page